New Puffer Owner

rsandelius

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 28, 2005
Detroit, MI
Hey guys! I'm kind of on a double learning curve here... I'm new to puffers AND brackish. The guy at the LFS told me that to do brackish, it's workable to put in a teaspoon of sea salt in during every other water change, but other than that, run it like normal. Think he's that far off?

Anyways, I just bought my little figure 8 puffer last night, and I'm already in love with these guys! Within 5 minutes of being put in the tank, he started eating bloodworms that I dropped in the tank and was bullying some guppies that I tossed in there for fun. It's amazing how when they eat, their stomaches bulge out so far! I thought senegal bichirs had personality, this guy is a riot! So... I immediately dubbed him "Bozo."

Now, I know that he'll outgrow the tank within the next couple of months, and I'm already budgeting/planning for that. But for now... I think he'll be happy.

Pics to come....

(I've already been to a bunch of puffer sites for maintainance/care/feeding/etc information, but if you guys would reinforce what you consider the CARDINAL RULES for owning puffers are, that'd be AWESOME!

Some quick questions I have....

1. Do I need to buy snails to help him/her wear down his teeth/beak/???
2. Where can I get those little snails?
3. Can feeder fish last in brackish water for extended periods of time?
4. What kinds of illnesses are puffers prone to and how can they be prevented?

Thanks a ton in advance!

ferco

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 11, 2006
Scotland
well i think i can help with Q's 1-3:
1- Yes, you should buy some snails to wear down their teeth, otherwise, like rabbits and rodents, their teeth will begin to grow to long and they will not be able to eat anymore.
2- I think lots of fish shops may just give you the snails for free, you takin them off their hands can be quite useful... i THINK!! lol, im not 100%.