PDA

View Full Version : How long to wait after water conditioner is added?



spongebob281
01-14-2010, 8:10 PM
Do i have to wait a few hours to let it do its job? I did a 50 % water change last nite and i didnt have enough water conditioners. Some of my fish died so i put them in another established tank for the time being. Can i put them back to where they were or do i have to wait a day or so thanks. BTW i bought a bottle of API water conditioner

myfish
01-14-2010, 8:29 PM
24 hours should be enough for the chlorine and chlorima to evaporate. It works for me and my betta splenden.

spongebob281
01-14-2010, 8:51 PM
i know 24hrs is for chlorine to evaporate but not chloramine.

sizors
01-14-2010, 8:53 PM
i add the conditioner to the tank before i start refilling. for conditioner, i use prime.

oscarcrazy
01-14-2010, 8:58 PM
Your fish died during a water change? Lots of people don't even use water conditioners without issues. Kinda wonder what else was going on. But yeah, 24 hours you will be fine. Also, exposer to air, like spraying it into the tank will help.

tcarswell
01-14-2010, 9:38 PM
http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=213384&highlight=long+dechlorinator+work

This thread should come as a great help and is packed full of all the information that you could ever wish to read :)

Hope this helps ,

Tcarswell.

pupumole
01-15-2010, 4:13 AM
i add amquel+ AFTER i fill up my tank with hose ._. cuz i feel like if i add it before, its just gonna deal with watever chemical thats in the tank before the new water goes in, and it would have no effect to the new water since the conditioner is already "used" o.o dunno if tis is bad, but o well, seems to be working fine.

krichardson
01-15-2010, 7:15 AM
I've used API Tapwater Conditioner for years.I simply add the ammount that the directions suggest and the water is safe for my fish almost instantly.Was there a difference in temperature with the incoming water?That could have played a part in your fish deaths.

BadOleRoss
01-15-2010, 7:20 PM
Do i have to wait a few hours to let it do its job? I did a 50 % water change last nite and i didnt have enough water conditioners. Some of my fish died so i put them in another established tank for the time being. Can i put them back to where they were or do i have to wait a day or so thanks. BTW i bought a bottle of API water conditioner

Maybe I am reading this wrong. Some fish died, so you moved them to an established tank, and now you are going to move the dead fish back? :screwy:

krichardson
01-15-2010, 7:28 PM
Maybe I am reading this wrong. Some fish died, so you moved them to an established tank, and now you are going to move the dead fish back? :screwy:
LOL I'm almost certain that he was talking about the surviving fish.