New to cichla

Vapor315

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 5, 2010
Syracuse, NY
I'm new to the whole peacock bass scene but not to fish keeping, I was wondering the growth rates of the different species along with their personalities. I would like to get them small and grow them out, they will be housed in my empty 125 with bichirs and a silver or two( this is a growout tank so I don't not need to be flamed for the tank size they will be moved more adequate housing when they beef up.)

Thanks,
Ryan

HULON

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
May 14, 2009
in the now!!
Vapor315;4360727; said:
I'm new to the whole peacock bass scene but not to fish keeping, I was wondering the growth rates of the different species along with their personalities. I would like to get them small and grow them out, they will be housed in my empty 125 with bichirs and a silver or two( this is a growout tank so I don't not need to be flamed for the tank size they will be moved more adequate housing when they beef up.)

Thanks,
Ryan
Well i don't Own Mono -Ocell -Tem's because they have a faster growth rate.Temensis seemingly growing the largest .With some kept in very large aquariums reaching over three feet.I purpasely bought Orino and Kelberi being slower growers but they still grow quikely My Orino were bought at 1.5 inch late last november also the Kelberi at 3 inch bought at the same time most out of the 6 are pushing 12 inches with a few slower growers around 8 to 9 inch .So in 8 months they have grown an average of 1 inch per month. Also the Orino most say they max in size about 24 inch but i am sure there will be smaller and much larger given room to grow...Hope this helps....:D:headbang2

switch

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 14, 2008
Toronto, ON.