New Pleco owner

KittyNyanNyan

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 12, 2006
Texas
I just got a new pleco today, it's about 7-8 inches. Since I'm new to the whole Pleco owning thing, I thought it'd be okay if I asked some questions here?

I've been reading the threads in this forum, and it seems that I have a common pleco. I was wondering what I should feed it, mostly veggies and a prawn as a treat every once and awhile? Or just give it some sinking shrimp pellets and algea wafers?

And I have it housed with a 3" tiger oscar and a 5" albino oscar. Is that okay? Right now the oscar are pretty much intimidated by the Pleco, but I'm aware of the Oscar's aggresive habits and the size of the pleco. Will housing them toghet cause problems such as fighting?

Any help would be very much appreciated!
Thank you.

milkman407

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jul 15, 2006
in a house
Hes fine with the oscars dont worry about that... feed him algie wafers untill your tank builds up enough algie then he will be fine for life basicly... every now and then feed him some stuff like cucumber and outher greens

dr_sudz

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Mar 6, 2006
Wiarton, Ontario
www.fishinabox.ca
:iagree: I feed mine algae waffers from time to time but it is also good to have some drift wood in the tank for the Pleco to chew on for some ruffage. If you see algae in your tank you have enough for the pleco to live on. No worries.

davo

Aimara
MFK Member
Jan 9, 2006
England
I was wondering what I should feed it, mostly veggies and a prawn as a treat every once and awhile?
i think you were right first time (quote). it aint gunna live off algae for its life. but pellets and algae wafers would be ok, but theres no denying that fresh veggies are better, and give the pleco some decent roughage, (but not lignin from bogwood, but its not thought as a necessity at all for this species) and a balanced diet.
good luck :thumbsup:

gomezladdams

Polypterus
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2005
gilboa,ny