View Full Version : are these guys nuts?
wizzin
11-07-2006, 3:35 PM
http://rareasianfish.com/product_info.php?cPath=1_4&products_id=28
They also have posted on aquabid. Are they on crack?
awesum
11-07-2006, 3:45 PM
other than the fact that it is super illegal. that rtg is way over priced. you could buy 2 SR's for that much money.
BIGGIE525
11-07-2006, 4:28 PM
:grinno: he thinks he can, but he has no idea:ROFL: :nilly: :screwy: :naughty:
WOW! You can buy High quality RTG in Canada for $1000-2000, for that kind of money you could get a couple of high quality Reds or even Premium Cross Backs.
wizzin
11-07-2006, 4:33 PM
WOW! You can buy High quality RTG in Canada for $1000-2000, for that kind of money you could get a couple of high quality Reds or even Premium Cross Backs.
Who cares about the cost! They're advertising on the internet that they have a RTG for sale in the US!!!!!!!!! Yes, it does seem high though.
I thought it was for sale in the east not in the states, $8900.00 and 10 years hard time sounds like a good deal.:D
WyldFya
11-07-2006, 6:31 PM
nah they are saying it is for sale in minnesota.
cichlid savage
11-07-2006, 6:39 PM
GUUUUD LAAAWWWDDD THAT'S A LOT OF MONEY!!!!!!!!
I thought it was for sale in the east not in the states, $8900.00 and 10 years hard time sounds like a good deal.:D
:ROFL:
He's not too bright.
xxblwn408
11-09-2006, 2:41 AM
Seems like a fraud to me. Take a look at the pics of the black aros they have for sale. It is the pic Alberto from Aquatechnics has of his aros for sale.
If they had them, why couldn't they have took a pic of there own fish.
Maybe cause they don't have ANY...
hillbilly
11-09-2006, 5:10 PM
Who is going to advertise they have an Asian in MN.? That's really stupid. Looks like a BS scam to me.
dr_sudz
11-09-2006, 5:29 PM
could the feds ever nail you for BUYING one in the states? Or just possessing and trafficing?
dr_sudz
11-09-2006, 5:35 PM
Alright I just went and saw the other fish they have for sale there... $300 for a 6 inch silver???? HELLO!! yet they have another that is only $65 of the same length, these guys must be smoking something heavy! Altho have you read some of the comments? Wow red tails are very hard to find! do you have any more reds? Maybe they are hard to find because you can only get them on the black market. :banhim:
wizzin
11-09-2006, 7:06 PM
I noticed on aquabid in the "wanted" section, some idiots have posted requests for RTG's etc and that "rareasianfish" store keeps responding saying "we have an RTG for $8900". I don't think it's a scam, I think it's someone who either thinks they're above the law, or they won't get caught. Wasn't it september when those 4 got nailed for aros? I thought it was $250,000 fine!!!!
benzjamin13
11-09-2006, 7:11 PM
huh..:screwy:
wizzin
11-09-2006, 7:52 PM
huh..:screwy:
diddo. HUH??? :screwy:
dapike1979
11-09-2006, 8:24 PM
We should try to get there adress and get them busted!! I would like to see that !!Always a couple of people who spoil it for the rest of the world!!:popcorn:
fishcatch22
11-09-2006, 8:30 PM
We should try to get there adress and get them busted!! I would like to see that !!Always a couple of people who spoil it for the rest of the world!!:popcorn:yes, we should report it to CITES or something. this guy needs to get nailed. no one is going to fall for that utter ripoff, anyway.:screwy: :irked:
I called them, left a message asking if I could come and look at the specimens they have available, and also reminding them that Asian Aro's are illegal. We'll see if I get a response.
ewurm
11-09-2006, 10:24 PM
I talked to this guy, he said it was an Australian.
dapike1979
11-09-2006, 10:56 PM
I talked to this guy, he said it was an Australian.
These people are unreal!! Australian/Asian Unreal :banhim:
dapike1979
11-09-2006, 10:58 PM
:banhim: There is a big dif!:banhim:
ewurm
11-09-2006, 11:06 PM
Would an Australian ever go for $8900?
dapike1979
11-09-2006, 11:08 PM
Would an Australian ever go for $8900?
It would have to be a sucker to pay that much!!:screwy:
ewurm
11-09-2006, 11:13 PM
So this is illegal, or a scam. Sounds like fraud to me!
wizzin
11-09-2006, 11:16 PM
they have pics of so called Jardini at 9 for $700 too, and the pics look an aweful lot like greens to me. I think he's just trying to scam people. :irked:
Jerk! :screwy:
benzjamin13
11-09-2006, 11:18 PM
I talked to this guy, he said it was an Australian.
Did you asked him why he was selling it as an Asian or if the pictures were real?
dapike1979
11-09-2006, 11:20 PM
they have pics of so called Jardini at 9 for $700 too, and the pics look an aweful lot like greens to me. I think he's just trying to scam people. :irked:
Jerk! :screwy:
Look's like australian to me!!:D
Im4u2nV
11-10-2006, 9:32 AM
yeap it's either nuts people or worse..scam/fraud...
better call the authorities before some honest and stinkin RICH hobbyst got fooled..
awesum
11-10-2006, 2:45 PM
That fish is not a jardini. It is an RTG. It's not a great looking one but it is. Or it could be the ghetto looking greens. I forgot what they were called.
Or it could be a green arowana and the guy fed it nothing but meal worms, which by the way makes your arowana have more of a pink/red tint to it.
Chaos32
11-10-2006, 4:36 PM
That fish is not a jardini. It is an RTG. It's not a great looking one but it is. Or it could be the ghetto looking greens. I forgot what they were called.
Or it could be a green arowana and the guy fed it nothing but meal worms, which by the way makes your arowana have more of a pink/red tint to it.
It is a RTG. :) Not sure what you mean by ghetto green but for sure it's definitely not a green since the tail color is all wrong. Unless the meal worms have been fed some sort of red pigmentation feed, chances are it would not turn out anywhere like that no matter how much of meal worms it's being fed.
No, I didn't. At that point I didn't care. Either it is Asian, and illegal, or it's Austrailian and a scam. I just wanted to see what the guy said when I told him it's illegal.
fishcatch22
11-10-2006, 7:44 PM
No, I didn't. At that point I didn't care. Either it is Asian, and illegal, or it's Austrailian and a scam. I just wanted to see what the guy said when I told him it's illegal.and what was his response to you saying that they're illegal?
Opiate
11-10-2006, 7:48 PM
fark thats a ridiculous price!!
Chaos32
11-10-2006, 8:06 PM
fark thats a ridiculous price!!
Yup, certainly his idea of a once in a life time bargain is way off LOL. :D
dapike1979
11-11-2006, 12:53 AM
they have pics of so called Jardini at 9 for $700 too, and the pics look an aweful lot like greens to me. I think he's just trying to scam people. :irked:
Jerk! :screwy:
77.00$ a piece i think its reasonable price for Jardinis.:D
dapike1979
11-11-2006, 12:57 AM
:banhim: There is a big dif!:banhim:
That's not the pic im talking about look @ the website under Jardini arowana! Im telling you it's a Jard!:D :popcorn:
and what was his response to you saying that they're illegal?
He said it was an Australian.
Chaos32
11-12-2006, 12:28 AM
Perhaps he posted the wrong pics then. :)
ewurm
11-12-2006, 12:39 AM
He may have posted the wrong pic, but the price is not right for an Australian. The price is right for an illegal Asian.
Chaos32
11-12-2006, 12:49 AM
He may have posted the wrong pic, but the price is not right for an Australian. The price is right for an illegal Asian.
U got a point. Hmmmm......
fishcatch22
11-12-2006, 12:55 AM
so, have you done anything, ewurm? made any calls to any men in uniforms?
wizzin
11-12-2006, 12:36 PM
not that great a price for the jards. Aquascape has them in stock for $65.
http://www.aquascapeonline.com/store/scripts/prodList.asp?idCategory=205