HELP ME DECIDE!!!

kamikaziechameleon

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Sep 23, 2010
western hemisphere
I have a 7ft x 2ft x 2.5ft 265 gallon aquarium, it leaks... Have already resealed the interior corners and leaked again the joint silicone is shot you can see it in the tank. SO, I'm at a cross roads. Break down the tank and redo the joints (the long panes of glass will weigh over 100 lbs each) or build a 84 inch long 40 inch deep 30 inch tall plywood tank??? The volume would be between 400 and 500 gallons. The sump I have for the 265 is large enough it should work great with that size of a tank. I can reuse the front pane from the 265 its spotless.

I have no experience with plywood. I've read many a builds here and there but I still have no sense of it.

the only really reason I'm considering that build is because I will be placing a arowana in the tank and the added depth will mean an extra year or more I can keep the fish in the tank and I can actually keep rays in that.

please let me know your thoughts this is an opinion and input thread so the more feedback the better.

Gervahlt

Gambusia
MFK Member
Jul 13, 2010
Asheville, NC
My personal opinion is that if you already have all the panes of glass to simply redo the tank you have, it'd be much less work than building a whole new one. On the other hand, if you don't mind doing work, have the time to spare, don't mind a bit of risk, worry, or extra expense, and are semi-handy, then you have an opportunity to really expand your tank size (assuming you have the room to do so). In fact, if you have the room, you could do a double window with the two longer panes and create more of a 174" x 40" x 30" tank (the two panes separated by about 6 inches) - roughly 900 gallons with the depth (front to back) limited only by the space you have. It's all going to come down to what you envision and how much money, time, and risk you're willing to fight through to get it.