ANOTHER!!!!!!!!!!!! plywood tank idea.

jpedric

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 23, 2011
Chicago/South Suburbs
Hi. Im new to this but became very interested when I recently set up a 20 gallon tank for my daughter and mounted it into the wall. Now I am obsessed and daddy wants his own big-boy tank. I wat to do a 6x3x2.5 but there is no way i will ever afford it unless i build it. I like the plywood idea because i will be building this into a wall aslo. My only concern is the waterproofing so I thought of an idea that I have yet to find a post on. here it goes. first I would get my sheets of 3/4 plywood and laminate them with formica (like i was making a counter top. then I cut the wood to the dimensions needed (this way formica goes all the was to the edges of plywood. Then I build my box uing liquid nails then screws. I would now have a box that would be water tight. Then cut the hole for my viewing window and install glass with silicone. Then go back and run a nice fat bead of silicone down all the joints where the formica covered plywood sheets meet. formica come in all different colors (including fake marble) and is fairly inexpensive. It is also paintable incase you wanted to change the color. Anyone think this is a terrible idea? My theory is that it it a continious sheet so there are less areas taht could possibly leak. at least this way if it did leak you would know it was a seam and not wicking through the epoxy.

brightworks

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 10, 2008
USA
Formica is actually pretty expensive. I make custom cabinets and buy it wholesale for $2/square foot. Not sure what HD or Lowes sells it for, but I don't think it is the right stuff in any case. Think about ABS plastic. You can get this from a plastic specialty shop for ~$30 and up per sheet - depending on thickness.

tjfish

Candiru
MFK Member
Oct 26, 2011
KC missouri