Need peacock experts help!

Looloo

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 15, 2012
Singapore
Hi guys,just joined the forum and need your help!im new to fish keeping and just started about 2 weeks back. I recently bought a 10 inch peacock bass.i was so excited as I always wanted to keep one of this beauties.on the first day I tried to give some feeders to see if he would eat it but when i threw the feeders in he didn't really gave them any attention.in the end my alligator gar ate them all! I tried market prawns and it didn't work as well ! The person whom I bought the peacock bass from said he fed it frogs and feeders.i tried both and even market prawns.but it didn't work either.Until the third day I tried to give him even smaller feeders I gave him mollies.when I threw them in there wasn't a reaction again.but after awhile he started to eat a few of them.

From what I have noticed its pelvic fin which was a red when I first bought it was starting to fade away and the eye had a tinge of red but now it's white!

Another question, both my alligator gar and peacock seem to be very shy and are afraid when I come to the tank and the gar only eats when I am a distance away from the tank same goes for the peacock just that it only eats a few feeders. I am really worried as my peacockbass has shrink a little in these 4 days and I don't want to lose him:(

Checked ph levels water conditions are all right.

Can you experienced keepers help me out please ! Thanks a lot! I really apprciate it!I really love my fish and want to to know How I can better look after my fish and how I can get it to even eat!really puzzled as it is swimming around perfectly and is very active!

gangster

Arapaima
MFK Member
Apr 17, 2008
mountains
How big is the tank? What is the water temp at? HOw often do you do water changes? How big is the aligator gar?

It can take some time for bass to settle in to their enviorment. Especially when housed w/ fish larger than them.

mrdee

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Mar 8, 2009