My 400 Gallon Steel Framed Plywood Tank Build Pentagon Shaped

ChewyFlipper

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 18, 2011
Toronto
So this is my First attempt at building a tank.

saw where alot of flaws were with wood and wanted to come up with a design strong enough for the largest of monster tank builds. Made out of my steel. so the size and way this tank is framed and build is complete over kill. but easily built.

the rough dimensions are 5'x2'x4'x2'x5' the two 5' are a 90deg. against the back wall. the 2'x4'x2' will be glass front. height will be 30"

everything on this build is over kill, but i want to see what i can do, and want to show what can be done. why the odd shape, and spray foam for insulation values. as all plumbing can be run through the wall and not around the outside, but still insulated. which would also add strength. and save space. as well as steel is so much lighter than wood.

rough cost in steel would be less than $100
plywood will be around $75 including finishing
spray foam $25
waterproofing $20-$40

Glass $UNKNOWN might be installed professionally as im not sure if i will trust my self joining glass on a 45.

entire tank custom built of glass was going to be $5500

IMAG0158.jpg

IMAG0160.jpg

KLee79

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 7, 2008
Ohio
What are you water proofing with? Will there be steel frames where the 45 degree angles are?

ChewyFlipper

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 18, 2011
Toronto
just going to make some cuts and upload the pics wire for computers in my car.

ChewyFlipper

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 18, 2011
Toronto
matters what the glass guy says. if i need then i will use my steel and put it together all my self... but if he can make the glass and join it all for me. ill have him install it. knowing it will be ok. im planning on running a steel join around the top of the tank. like my current tank has a 2" black plastic strip around. figured i could do the same with steel and make it structural. and just paint it flat black.