resealing glass tanks

horrifier

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 31, 2011
ohio
ok so first off i hope this is in the right place, thinking since its trying to fix a leak that would be considered diy. anyway to my problem. i got a great deal on a 75g and 40B but both leak from the bottom. i have never resealed a tank before so am a little nervous and not sure how. i have worked with silicone before just not trying to seal something that i plan on being filled with water in my home. i know that new silicone doesn't stick well to old so am i correct in assuming i should remove all the silicone in the tank? also should i remove the trim on the tank to do this? thats another thing i have never done before but can't imagine it being too hard. one last question, the 40B that i got has what appears to be a center brace on the bottom trim that runs under the bottom glass, is this normal? i don't think i have seen a tank like that before so figured i would ask. if anyone has any advice please feel free to share as i am a complete noob at resealing tanks. thanks

nolapete

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jun 1, 2007
New Orleans, LA
You don't have to take the glass apart, but do have to remove all of the silicone from the inside of the tank. A 5 in 1 painter's tool, razor blades, distilled white vinegar, and paper towels are helpful to this process. After you get the bulk of the silicone removed from the inside, wet a paper towel with 50/50 distilled white vinegar and water solution. Wipe the inside glass with it. This does two things, it cleans the glass (non toxic) and allows you to find the remaining film of silicone. Use a razor blade to remove the silicone film.

You do not have to remove the trim of the tank. If a piece of trim is loose, you can remove it, clean the old silicone away and replace it before resealing the tank.

I've never seen a 40B with a bottom center brace, but it is generally best to leave whatever bracing in place. Who knows what the builder was thinking or did.