how long does it take for them to grow?

fazt998cc

Feeder Fish
Dec 17, 2006
MD
hello all i'm new to the hobby as well as to this site... i have: 2x clownknife, 2x pacus, 2x oscars, 2x pangasius catfish, 3x silver-tipped shark, 4x kenyis, 6x pink-kissing gouramies, 2x chinese algae eaters & 1 common pleco ... how long does it take for them to grow? i see that my pacus have started to grow since when feeding time comes they are very aggressive... thanks...

joel

Polypterus
MFK Member
Jul 14, 2005
THE GARDEN STATE
the pacus will grow very fast and very large. those fish will all get a decent size pretty quick. hope you have a large tank and a lot of filtration. welcome to the hobby.

davo

Aimara
MFK Member
Jan 9, 2006
England
Hi, and welcome to MFK, im sure you'll be batting away the advice given to you soon enough. How bigs your tank, thats a lot of fish, and some potential monsters in there! the pleco will get to 12-24" depending on species, but probably 24" and will get to 15" pretty quick. Growth rate of fish depends on how clean their environment is i.e. how good the water quality is, aswell as what you feed and how much you feed, and the amount of space they have to grow. Growth rates are also affected by how big the fish already is, many fish grow very quickly as fry for the first half of their size, and then the rate slows down drastically. How big are your fish currently?

aro-guy246

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jun 15, 2006
Virginia, USA
You might want to think about thinning out your stock a little bit. I'd take the pacus back while they're still small and can still earn store credit. Those fish get enormous and are really not suitable for anything other than a large pond. Keep reading around this site, there's tons of useful information.

fazt998cc

Feeder Fish
Dec 17, 2006
MD