K1 media

jim barry

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jun 21, 2006
U.K
I have been using k1 for 2 years now you need to put it in a bag or it gets everyeere in the sump

It also need to move to self clean

My sump is run full so no wet and dry its set up like a giant canister filter

It also floats so I just have 3 big air stones in my sump to move it all around and air the media more

My dump has eheim efimech on the bottom then eheim substrate pro then the k1 floating on the top this is all in the big main part of the sump

The 1st part of my sump were the water comes in has jap mat which is like the course pad in a canister filter
I can't stand filter socks

The next part of the sump has bio balls

The 1st and 2nd parts of the sump are both 30 long x 10 wide

I stir all the main part of the sump up once per month and turn the drip up full over night so about a 50% water change
The tank goes like soap and would scare most people but it's dupe clear the next morning I then wash the jap mats the next day just like you would a pre filter

Been running it like this and had no problems

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app
Hi Richard
Sounds good, so i could just fill the chambers up with K1 or K3?
Any chance of a picture of your set up?

T1KARMANN

Giant Snakehead
MFK Member
Sep 19, 2005
London UK
Hi Richard
Sounds good, so i could just fill the chambers up with K1 or K3?
Any chance of a picture of your set up?
Not much to see in my sump and it's dark I have been meaning to put a light in for ages

If I had to do it again I would use K3 as the k1 is small and gets out of the bag every now and then

I had good results with canister filters that's why I set mine up like one and as I have the over flow pipe for the drip if I get a power cut I have no problems of it over flowing with the water from the main tank

My sump is 24 tall and is filled to 18 inch

Like I said I stir up the whole sump once per month and it's shocking