Discus for my dad

Rachel.Cody

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 2, 2014
Ohio
First I want to start off by saying this is my first try with discus, I know they're not the most high quality but I wanted to test the waters of Discus before I make a full tank of what my dad told me were some of the prettiest fish he has seen. My father passed away very unexpected Monday night. He was my best friend and had a long life ahead of him that he will now not get to live. Only being 20 he taught me everything I know in life, he taught me to hunt, fish, build things, work on vehicles and basically everything else I know. He turned 50 in January and he was fascinated with the fish i kept. I don't live at home so he never got to see them in person but i always showed him pictures. We were on google and we stumbled across a picture of what i think was a red turquoise discus. He said " Wow, that fish is really pretty," and i began to explain to him that i've heard discus are a pain to keep. So anyways I was thinking I would make a tank for him of these truly beautiful fish. So i decided to go to my lfs today just to take my mind off of things and I came across some adult (Looked to be a low quality red turquoise with the nice shiny blues and reds but mostly orange body). Then I looked to the tank beside it and saw some that were probably about 4". I asked what they cost and the lfs owner (I used to work there) told me $35 and i was bummed because I only had $75 store credit and i wanted a trio. Then he pointed me to some he was acclimating and said he could sell them to me for $20, they are about 2-3". So I got a trio of them. I came home and moved my payara out of his 30g bare bottom quarantine and started acclimating them. I did it very slow because i forgot to ask if they were in RO or tap. I put them in the tank after about 35 min with a nice piece of driftwood. I was worried at first because they were breathing very heavy and they looked very stressed. After about an hour i came ba