Search results

1. V

"Pros and cons" experienced comments please

in my opinion you should stick to one type of coating don't complicate it with 2 many different chemicals I personally would use MAS epoxies just because I have had extensive experience with it. If you do go with a fiber/resin lay up I suggest you wet out ,use a thin mat .5 oz.first(once wet you...
  2. V

If you need glass / acrylic

Tempering*
  3. V

none of these are meant to be submerge there whole life span ..and most boat manufacture will tell you to seal the bottom if you plan on leaving it in the water for any length of time
  4. V

I have had bad experiences when top coating polyester with epoxies ( been in the fiberglass business professionally for nearly 26 years and have first hand experience mixing the types of resigns ) , I know all the literature says that epoxy sticks to polyester just fine..... only on well...
  5. V

why not just skip the polyester and use epoxy in the cloth, one less step
  6. V

Wet carpet

indeed
  7. V

If you need glass / acrylic

I am interested in temping glass, do you do that also?
  8. V

Wow alot of people have misconceptions about fiber glass. a Fiber glass does absorb water even when gel coated, gel it self if very pores , it is not able to spend it entire live span wet .b the chems used it are harmful to fish and take years to flash. c if you dont get the ratio resign to...
  9. V

MAS Epoxies are non blushing and is what I would use. http://www.masepoxies.com/ The problem with using either of ester family of resigns is they take years to fully cure (actually can take up to 25 to 30 years for them to completely cure out, sounds crazy don't it) and the flashing of the...
  10. V

Wet carpet