Search results

1. G

Plywood 4x2x1.5 started - pics - step by step

I started painting with liquid rubber. 6 coats applied to the interior and 1 to the exterior. I applied the liquid rubber with a roller brush and used a paint brush to touch up the corners. The liquid rubber didn't dry properly inside and I found the tank had to be put outside in the sun for a...
  2. G

Bogged the countersunk holes and irregularities. More tools purchased (all from bunnings): Sand paper $1 Paint brushes $5 Plastic blades (for bogging) $3 Paint rollers & tray $6 Drop sheets $2 TOOLS TOTAL SO FAR: $147 More materials purchased: Plastic wood (bog) $10 20L ZAVLAR liquid rubber...
  3. G

Changed my mind on the layout of the tank. Flipped it and the base will now be the front. Will use 10mm glass instead of 6mm as the cost isn't much greater. Left a 5cm perimeter and cut out the viewing window. Had to replace the jigsaw again as it was crooked :(
  4. G

$40 upsidedown fishtank in pond

Most people I read about clean these with a magnetic algae cleaner. Great idea on the siphon. Might be an easier solution than plumbing in an intake pipe!
  5. G

115cm,x 37cm x 6mm glass quotes: 6mm float $70 or 10mm $140 with polished edges 6mm $50, 10mm $75 without polished edges Found a supplier and ordered black Zavlar. Also a coloured coat option http://www.zavlar.com.au/#!zavlar-colour-shield/csdy http://www.zavlar.com.au/#!purchase/coz2...
  6. G

Just sucked it out with a gravel siphon by mouth. Easy. I think I'd plumb a filter intake into the top of the upsidedown tank to pick up any debris. There is always a way.
  7. G

Advice needed - RTGG hides a lot, and only nibbles at food.

Thanks Wailua Boy - your ggs must be happy in that setup! 5 week's seems like a long time to settle in. Could he be missing his last owner? They seem to recognize different people. Cheers fwprawn. I've got a well behaved tex and a variety of normal gouramies in there that I added in an attempt...
  8. G