College advice?

ichthyogeek

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jan 1, 2015
Arkansas
So I'm going to be starting college this fall. I'm debating between three majors (Computer Science, premed, and something fish related). For those in professions relating to fish, such as hatcheries, aquaculture, etc, can I get some advice please? I already know what premed involves, as well as CS. However, the only thing I know about fish, is what I've learned about with my aquariums. Freshwater conservation (ponds, streams, etc.) isn't really my thing, due to my severe aversion to amphibians. I was thinking something along the lines of aquaculture, hatcheries, or marine biology in general. I'm still not certain what I want to do for a living in the future, but knowledge is always useful when I need to choose my major (approximately 2 years from now). Thank you!

ehh

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 30, 2013
New Mexico
Look at the degree plan for whatever degree that your university offers that is fish related.
Example: the school I'm attending offers a degree in fish and wildlife ecology. So I wanted to wanted to know what I'm going to learning. So I'd look up the degree plan either on the university's main site or on the departments site.
http://aces.nmsu.edu/academics/fws/documents/class-descriptions.pdf

fatboy8

Piranha
MFK Member
Mar 9, 2012
Philadelphia
You could try to find a school that offers a fishiers biology degree. The college I just graduated from in May is actually where the program began. They're tough classes but worth it in the end if you enjoy working with fish. I have one friend working at a hatchery in Alaska, two more at a Striper hatchery in central PA and a handful more at trout hatcheries or working for States as a fisheries biologist.

spotfin

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 2, 2006
Maine