How To Create An Appealing PVC or ABS Cave

RadioctiveRisk

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 23, 2014
Wa
In my time as an aquarium hobbyist I have struggled with finding a visually appealing hide for large aquatic species that didn't cost an arm and a leg. I would hunt local pet shops for decorations to only find little dinky hides that maybe a beta could squeeze into. If I did find a hide (usually from an online site) that was the appropriate size it was often over 25 dollars. When you need more than one hide the cost adds up fast! So with some research, trial and error I created a simple and attractive hide for larger fish and other aquatic species.
What you need
1) PVC or ABS pipe in the desired diameter (this can even be a elbow or tee shape)
2) Krylon Fusion in desired color
3) Mineral spirits
4) Sand paper and/or a Dremel Tool
5) Eye protection, face mask and gloves
6) (optional) disposable gloves for painting
WARNING: Always wear eye and respiratory protection when sanding and spray painting. Also protect your hands with durable gloves when using a Dremel.
Steps
1) Find a suitable diameter and length of Pipe.
Take into consideration what kind of critter will be using this cave. How wide and tall is you fish? or how big will they be when fully grown? If you have a longer critter like an eel or even a salamander try a elbow or tee shaped pipe. I used a 4in. diameter sanitary tee that I got at ACE for 5 bucks.
2) Sand or Dremel any sharp areas
Feel you pipe for any sharp areas or sections. These can be seams left behind by the molding and casting process used to make the pipes and connectors. Using a large and medium grit sand paper, sand these seams and sharp edges to protect your aquatic buddies. You can speed the process up by using a Dremel and a sanding bit! Watch your hands when using the Dremel to prevent any accidents. This is step is critical if you are making this for fish with delicate fins, soft unarmored bellies or long feelers that can be easily damaged.