New Lima Shovelnose

annamarie92

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2015
NC
I just got my Lima shovelnose today. 😊 such a beautiful fish. I've heard these guys are tough to get off live food. Any suggestions for what I should feed him? He's ate a few bloodworms today, no luck with pellets.

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

ImageUploadedByMonsterAquariaNetwork1429667292.265454.jpg

Rachel.Cody

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 2, 2014
Ohio
I just got my Lima shovelnose today. 😊 such a beautiful fish. I've heard these guys are tough to get off live food. Any suggestions for what I should feed him? He's ate a few bloodworms today, no luck with pellets.

I feed the one we have at work krill. You could try that.

Sent from my SM-G900P using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

annamarie92

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2015
NC
Okay I could try that. Does anyone know about shrimp? And would live or frozen work better? Sorry for the questions. I'm new to catfish and I want to make sure he's healthy. Not too much info on the web.

Rachel.Cody

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 2, 2014
Ohio
Okay I could try that. Does anyone know about shrimp? And would live or frozen work better? Sorry for the questions. I'm new to catfish and I want to make sure he's healthy. Not too much info on the web.

I would try frozen shrimp and tilapia too. I like to steer away from anything live unless i absolutely have to use it.

Sent from my SM-G900P using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

annamarie92

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2015
NC
Okay great! I didn't want to use live fish for sure. That's why I wanted to know what other people have had success with.

annamarie92

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2015
NC
So I got him to eat some mysis shrimp!! Yes!! After lights out tonight, I unthawed mysis shrimp and got some on my finger, wiggled in the water above him and he ate it right off my finger and then what went floating in the water.

catfishacr

Gambusia
MFK Member
Jun 3, 2014
Iowa City, IA