Looking to start a SW Tank

LiftBig315

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 10, 2008
North Dakota
I was just wondering what I can expect to spend starting up a 55 Gallon SW. And what types of fish would be fun to have in a 55...if any. I just say 55 because getting the tank and stand would be cheap. And then i could invest most of my money in equipment, and inhabitants.

What are some things to keep in mind, and things not even think about as I am planning all of this out?

Just a total newb lookin for all the help he can get for starting a SW

Danyal

Gambusia
MFK Member
Nov 26, 2006
woodland, ca
depends on how good you are at DIY, my 29g reef so far has only costed me about $350 but i haven't gotten many corals yet. you could probably put together a FOWLR tank in the 40~60g range for about $300~$500, especially if you buy the setup used. i'd try to find something wider than a 55g so a 40B, 60g or 75g. for fish it depends on what you want in the fish, a bunch of small nano fish or a couple of larger fish, in something as small as a 55g you'd be pretty restricted in terms of selection of larger fish.

LiftBig315

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 10, 2008
North Dakota
thats all I was thinking for my first tank. Just some smaller 'community fish' if thats what you wanna call em. I just want something that would be good eye candy for company and fun to watch.

LiftBig315

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 10, 2008
North Dakota
As for the DIY thing, I am pretty decent at stuff like that. I am a fabricator, so if I can make it with metal I can do anything right ;)

sweeTang21

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 10, 2007
Wisconsin