Help starting a saltwater setup

dodge4x4man68

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 2, 2008
MASS
I am ready to make the jump to saltwater after several years of keeping african cichlids. I have 4 tanks, a 75g, 55g, 30g and a 20g. I am going to use the 75 for the conversion. Equipment already have is as follows, 260 watt power compact and a 120 watt strip, fluval fx5 and a fluval 405, 2-250 watt heaters, 2 aquaclear 70 powerheads. I am going to go with a fish only with live rock tank. Do I need anything else to get up and running besides the salt and testing kits? I want to cycle the tank with damsels and live rock, is this a good idea? or should I just go with the fish until it cycles? all info everyone can give will be greatly appreciated as I am a newbie to saltwater.

princess

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Apr 13, 2007
England
sounds good! but i really wouldn't want you to cycle the tank with dansels :( ...just do it with live rock for a month then get fish you actually want.

DB junkie

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 27, 2007
Iowa
Find someone in your area or a LFS, make friends, then barrow somer filter media/and or live rock. If you could get a hold of some used media that would help jump start it a lot, cut your time needed to cycle way down.

I say use the Damsels to cycle then as snacks for the fishes. :)

princess

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Apr 13, 2007
England
DB junkie;1708134; said:
Find someone in your area or a LFS, make friends, then barrow somer filter media/and or live rock. If you could get a hold of some used media that would help jump start it a lot, cut your time needed to cycle way down.

I say use the Damsels to cycle then as snacks for the fishes. :)

shut it you! whats the point in buying them for cyceling... its not like cycleing goes any quicker

dodge4x4man68

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 2, 2008
MASS