Tank setup and questions (pics)

stevietennis

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jun 28, 2008
Los Angeles, CA
Hey MFKers,

Well, I finally got my 240gallon tank setup and was hoping to get some comment from the community. The tank is a 240gallon tank measuring 8'x2'x2'. It also come with a sump which measures 36"x20"x12" and the water level is at about 6". The tank is filled with water and now I just need to start the cycling process. I was told to just more some of the gravel from my old tank into the 240g and that will start the cycling process.

I am very new to all of this since I am upgrading from a 50gallon? (48"x16"x16") with HOB filters. So I have a few question that I hope someone can help me answer.

1. Does my sump look like it is setup correctly, about an inch of the bioballs are underwater. Do I need more filter media?

2. The overflow chambers in the main tank are located on the sides of the tank and make quite a bit of noise. Is there anything I can do to lower the noise like add bioballs or filter mats in the overflow chambers?

3. I plan on putting my 18" arowana in the 240g along with 5 large parrot cichlids and 2 small cichlids. Do you think adding another silver arowana would pose any problems?

Thanks for looking and commenting.

Tank Picture:

Overflow Chamber - Can I add anything in this area to lower noise level

Sump/Wet/Dry Fiter - Does this look okie? More media? water level okie?
This is the first two chambers where the overflow from each side comes from.

The return pump in the last chamber. The are is a panel with two holes in this chamber but I have no idea what it is made for

Any suggestions and help would be great.

Knowdafish

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 12, 2007
Philippines