mechanical and biological filtration? need help.

daryllee123

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jun 10, 2008
singapore
what is the difference between mechanical and biological filtration? is getting one good enough? or do i need to get both? and what kind of filtration do i need for my tank? my tank is a 120g with a spotted gar, endli and ornate. sorry, i'm kinda new to this kind of stuff, so help would be greatly appreciated. thanks!:)

Bderick67

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 18, 2006
Colorado
Research the nitrogen cycle, understand this will help in maintaining your aquarium.

In a nutshell, waste from fish, uneaten food and dead plants breaks down into ammonia. There are colonies of bacteria that convert the ammonia into nitrites and the nitrites into nitrates.

Biological filteration is that which has media designed to house these colonies of bacteria. The filters will remove the ammonia and nitrites from the water. You will then have to keep the nitrate levels low by doing regular partical water changes.

The mechanicla media will trap the debries in your aquarium. This will give your aquarium water a cleaner look. If you frequently clean the mechanical media and remove the fish waste, uneaten food or dead plant material, you will lighten the biological load. Lightening the biological load will have and end result of lower nitrates, but water changes will still be necessary to keep the nitrate level acceptable.

jcardona1

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jun 5, 2007
South of Heaven
yup! biological filtration keeps your water free of the stuff that can kill your fish, like ammonia and nitrites.

mechanical keeps your water looking clean. ideally, you should have both :)

WyldFya

Baryancistrus demantoides
MFK Member
Dec 23, 2005
Moscow, ID
Good mech filtration = clear water
Good bio filtration = healthy water for fish.

Either lacking = ugly tank.

Bderick67

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 18, 2006
Colorado
daryllee123;2060529; said: