New To African Cichlids

evojoey

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Jul 31, 2008
Turnersville, South Jersey
Hey everyone. I'm in the process of getting rid of all my SA/CA cichlids and I'm going african. My wife likes "pretty colors", so out with the oscars and in with the, well "pretty colors". I have a 265 gal. tank and need some stocking suggestions. Currently I am running 2 FX-5's, 2 Eheim 2117's and 2 Koralia 4's in there as well. So filtration is not a problem. I want to go with Malawi species. Any suggestions and or species info would be great as I am a rookie in the world of african cichlids. Any substrate and rock suggestions would help too. Thanks, Joe

Frostyone

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 21, 2008
Baltimore
A 265 is a big African tank. I'd say a large colony of Frontosa, but besides blue they're not that colorful. Maybe some large Haps, Peacocks.........you could put 30+ in a 265, that would look nice, all males though (they're the colorful ones).

mahemaheman85

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jul 25, 2008
spokane
evojoey;2181725; said:
Hey everyone. I'm in the process of getting rid of all my SA/CA cichlids and I'm going african. My wife likes "pretty colors", so out with the oscars and in with the, well "pretty colors". I have a 265 gal. tank and need some stocking suggestions. Currently I am running 2 FX-5's, 2 Eheim 2117's and 2 Koralia 4's in there as well. So filtration is not a problem. I want to go with Malawi species. Any suggestions and or species info would be great as I am a rookie in the world of african cichlids. Any substrate and rock suggestions would help too. Thanks, Joe