Culturing Redworms for Tropical Fish Food

AROWANA_KISS

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 24, 2005
PUERTO RICO
:clap Most aquarists are perfectly happy with using commercially prepared dried foods or commercially prepared frozen foods. However, some of us either want to be cheap, are hungry for more challenge, or perhaps want to have a more self-managed food supply. Here I will be telling my method of culturing redworms for use as fish food. I am by no means an expert, but here is what I have learned in the past couple of months, coupled with some common worm knowledge. This is not meant to be a sole resource, there is much more information on composting with worms (vermicomposting) on the internet and in a few books. Done correctly, by the time this project is up and running you should be able to harvest worms regularly for your group of fish.

Setting it up:

You will need: A large container*

Bedding material**

Paper cardboard or similar

A three-pronged cultivator or similar tool

An initial supply of worms

Worm food supply

Something to cover the bin

A tray for the bottom of your container (optional)

A cool place outdoors or in the garage

* Preferably with drainage holes at the bottom. I used an old recycling bin...you could also make one using wood.
** Coconut coir works well, but you can also use fertilizer free potting mix.

Get your container. If it doesn't have drainage holes in the bottom it would be a good idea to make some. It would also be a good idea to have a tray on the bottom, so that whatever is under your worm bin does not get soiled. Worms will not venture from inside the bin if the conditions are favorable.