a newbie question, apologize if sounded dumb

adrideh

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 19, 2009
Jakarta
Hi seniors,

I am a newbie just recently joined this forum and have several questions regaring alligator gars.

I am planning to keep 4 alligator gars (about 10" size) in a 94 gallons bare bottom aquarium. I am planning to keep them there for max. 6 months before I build a bigger tank in my house.

The questions are :
1. As I know that 94 gallons (59" x 20" x 20") is too small to keep these gars for years, would it be okay for about 6 months ?
2. My water is hard, 10dH + 10KH is it okay for gars ?
3. The temperature would be around 27 - 30 Celcius , is it okay ?
4. What is the ideal way to transport the gars ? Do I need to starve them for 1 day prior ?

Please excuse my bad English, tried my best anyway.... hehehe

Thanks in advance,
Adri - Jakarta, Indonesia

Polypterus

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Aug 17, 2005
Detroit
Lower 20's are better and especially if you plan to keep those fish in a smaller tank for a period of time keep the Temp down if you can.

Ideally Temperate gars are best around 25 for a high and 15 for a low. They can handle the higher temps but it will make them require alot more feed, if smaller they will grow faster and they will need more care as to water conditions at higher temps. Cooler temps slow them and moderate them.

E_americanus

Penguin Lover
MFK Member
Aug 14, 2004
Louisiana
primitivefishes.com
also wanted to add something regarding your transport question...really depends on how long you are moving them for...it would be good to fast them for about a day before transport if possible. moving them in a large plastic tub or in double-bagged plastic bags can work for large and small individuals, respectively. how long are they going to be in transport?--
--solomon

adrideh

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 19, 2009
Jakarta
Thanks Polypterus, for your help...

So if I'm not mistaken, this is what I gather :