Japes' guide to applying 'vinyl' backgrounds

japes

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Hey guys,

I get asked quite often how I get such perfect black backgrounds in my fish and full tank shot photographs, and whether my tank is painted. None of my tanks are painted because I don't like the permanent aspect, regardless of quality. I'm no paint expert but from what I gathered from researching the painting of the tanks, the best results are after applying a preparation product such as Penetrol or ESP, which may affect the glass if you ever decided to remove the paint.

Since beginning in the hobby I've always had black backgrounds on advice of a friend who taught me this method. I'm sure its documented elsewhere, but here's my method that may be slightly different.

What you need:

- Appropriate size of Blue/Black Double sided background vinyl (I call it vinyl)
- Canola Oil Spray
- Something flat and square, like a plastic scraper, ruler, etc.
- Black electrical tape
- Old Newspaper

This is pretty much what I use.

Procedure:

a) Wipe down the background of your aquarium with a half wet fine cloth and allow to dry. Methylated spirits will also work but I generally have other things going on when applying a background that I can attend to in the meantime. Don't dry it with a towel as you'll leave tiny specs of hairs and such on the glass, so unless you want to go over it again with a static brush or similiar I suggest waiting it out.

b) Cut your vinyl backing to fit onto only the glass sections of your tank, so it's not overlapping any corner edging, it needs to go on perfectly flat. Don't be overly pedantic about making it absolutely perfect, as we have methods of smoothing out the edges once it's applied. If your tanks over 24" high or you bought backing that's too short and need to join pieces together, that's fine. Cut everything to fit neatly even if there are gaps.