Ghost shrimp turning red and dying.

kimikoira

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 26, 2009
Oahu, Hawaii
I have a 10 gallon tank (houses 1 male betta and plants) that I have been running for about 2 months now. I had added a few Ghost shrimp and (1) 3" crayfish 1 month ago. The aquarium has a 1" layer of sand, a few medium sized rocks, and plants. My betta would follow the shrimp every once in awhile, but he never ate one, he also left the crayfish alone.

My problem is that every other day I would find a pinkish-orange dead shrimp in the middle of my tank (you know when you cook shrimp and it turns pink. . . yea, thats what it looked like)
Maybe my water temperature was too high, and it cooked my shrimp (somehow)? But the temperature has never gone over 76*F.
Is it overcrowded and stressing the shrimp?
My crayfish also died his second day in the tank.

(only male betta, plants, and 2 ghost shrimp left)

This month I came home to (1) 1 1/2" crayfish and (10) ghost shrimp (. . . That my bf had got from his friend)

I brought a sponge filter.

Today I found another pinkish-orange dead shrimp.
Why is it turning a pinkish-orange color? I heard of ghost shrimp turning white after it died, but never pink.

Also, I dont think my crayfish is eating. She just stays hidden in her rock cave. . . thingy. (I know the shrimp are eating)

I feed the shrimp (and crayfish) flake food, and ive been leaving the light off as much as possible to reduce stress.

So why are my shrimp turning a pinkish-orange color and dying? :confused:

NERV

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 29, 2009
san jose, cali
Hmm, usually if I lost a ghost shrimp it turned totally white. Never heard of them turning red when they die. What do they look like alive?

kimikoira

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 26, 2009
Oahu, Hawaii
Alive, my shrimp are a clear-ish color.
Half my shrimp are clear with brown markings along their body, and the other half is a grey-ish clear.

I'll try to get some pictures up.