Dead yellow tang

fcamargo6thave

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 15, 2008
Jersey City NJ
So i have been lurking this website and others for months on how to start a saltwater setup. I had been cycling a 45 gallon tank for 2 months with blue dansels and it went pretty smooth no problems and no deaths.. Now i gave my blue dansels to a buddy so he can cycle his tank and i brought in 2 clown fish, a yellow tang and a foxface rabbitfish. It has been 12 days since i introduced these fish to my tank and I am already having problems. For the first few days the fish were doing fine and i was able to see them fish and enjoy the water, Now it seems that they are very stressed.. the 3 fish stay behind a rock all day and only come out once in a while to look for food which I find that they sometimes dont eat.. The clown fish are twitching from time to time and are have become more secluded. The foxface changes a tintish brown from time to time but then returns to his bright yellow.. the Yellow tang looked like he developed ick and was turning whitish but would return to his yellow but not the bright yellow it should be thus after noticing his symptoms he died today.

Now I was doing a 30% water change weekly but now i dont know what to do the Salinity of the tank is about what it should be 1.023. I dont know what my water parameters are i need to buy a test kit and will do so tommorow ( i only have a freshwater test kit) << can i use that?? Doubt it?? Right?? For the ick i tried raising the temp to keep it between 83 and 86 degrees.. & I am feeding the fish Ocean's nutrition prime reef frozen food ( which a cube of blend of seafood with algae.

What am i doing wrong are the fish ok?? or are they in danger of ending up like the yellow tang??

sw2.jpg

sw fish 1.jpg

sostoudt

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 5, 2009
va
i believe your water quality is bad, you stocked the tank too fast. add one fish every other week max if your not watching your parameters(not recommended)