How to care for gar properly? im new to them.

Motoxs3th

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 3, 2010
Seatown
im getting 2 alligator tommorow. 16" male .12" female
what should i expect. how and what do i feed them. tips and pointer please on owning one of these i know 300 gallons is small for these guys but i will deal with that when they get bigger. and can they room with a 14" oscar whos not mean. and a 10" red toger mota?
i hear xanders the man on this let me know.

xander

Manjuari
MFK Member
Sep 6, 2007
Singapore
as said so eloquently by richard(the real man on this)...

Quote:
Alligator Gar-~24" in the first year, growth rates usually slow down at 36". in most home aquariums, this fish is usually stunted, only hitting a 3'-4' range. although 5'-6' is very possible given sufficient facilities. Very much stouter when compared to Lepisosteus Species. this is not an average home aquarium fish.
This a a bit generalized and has issues attached...
Really it is not common for a Gator to reach 24 inches in the first year in wild populations. (Described properly by Solomon as growing season) 15 to 18 is. In captivity this can be skewed a bit and a well feed fish kept in tropical like conditions can exceed what would be a normal growth pattern. They can however, be kept properly and have a correct weight and length curve that matches the fishes usual wild model... With proper husbandry...
THESE ARE TEMPERATE FISH... Not Tropical...

It should be noted that "stunting" is very common in all fish and it is not just the Gator that gets stunted in captive (or even wild) conditions. All Gars exhibit this and you really should note it for all of them.. It is also not necessarily a bad thing for the fish. It may very well still mature and may very well have a similar reproductive output as a non-stunted individual. There exists a point where it is really bad but if this is the case you will or would have killed the fish already...