soon to be, New Stingray owner, questions

ac64218

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 15, 2010
charlotte, NC
Hey ya'll
I'm new to this site (first post). I just recently purchased a 180 gallon tank (6'x2'x2') and I'm thinking about getting a stingray (or two) to go in it with my oscar, african bushfish (lLeopard Ctenopoma), and possibly a fire eel. I'm kinda lost in the amount of contradicting info out there. On one hand there's a lot of people out the claiming you need massive 4'ft wide tanks to keep these guys. Yet, i see people's blogs showing off their 10 year old motoro that's living comfortably in a 90 gallon tank.

http://www.dcpaleo.org/Leisure/Animals/FishesStingray.html

Do these guys adjust to their tank size? what do ya'll recommend for me; being that I'm a beginner and my tank size? what is actually available and where's a good place to find a variety of healthy specimens? do ya'll know of any good breeders online?

ac64218

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 15, 2010
charlotte, NC
hey, I also found this guy selling "tea cup" stingrays on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Live-freshwater...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item3ca9d7fafb

when i asked him the species, he simply replied that they were tea cups and that they would get 36". I was under the understanding that "tea cup" simply meant a small ray. you would think a breeder would know the species he/she was breeding. can any one identify it for me? as far as i can tell it's a retic

mareshow

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Sep 14, 2009
Edmonton, Alberta
looked at the ebay ad, it looks like he has motoro rays and retics and i think that's a flower in the back. that being said their mostlikely hybrids why not buy from someone on here? as for your tank i have a 180 also i got some scobinas though, if i were you i would get histrix or scobina rays if you can find them and depending how much you want to spend.

Gshock

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 21, 2009
Toronto