what is all the cycling about!!!!!!!!!

bethie_dawn

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 30, 2006
AR
Everyone keeps talking to me about cycling and I have read past post and look all over websites and books but I still do not get it. I thought cycling was to let your water go through the filter for a few days and I did that then added my fancy guppies. I am totally new at this, I put the fish in the tank over 2 weeks ago and figured everything was find this past week I did lose a female and a fry and started to think I must be doing something wrong.
I did about a 60 to 70% change.
I have figured that I feed to much because when I tried to clean the gravel stuff went everywere.
I do not know what to do or how to start.
What does cycling mean and how do you know when it has started and when it is done.
Thanks and sorry about the totally newbie question I know you all get tried of getting the cycling questions again and again but I could not make head or tails out of the old post.

rallysman

Polypterus
MFK Member
Aug 7, 2005
indiana
Cycling means you're trying to establish the benficial bacteria needed to convert amoina (fish piss) into nitrites, and nitrites into nitrates (end product)
Water changes will slow this process down. buy a test kit and check your paramaters every few days. Once you see the amonia and nitrites at 0 and your nitrates going up, then you're cycled. After that, you start doing water changes to control the nitrates.

The bacteria will grow in your filter mainly, but will also be present on rocks and decoration.

Carg R

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 7, 2006
Texas
I have figured that I feed to much because when I tried to clean the gravel stuff went everywere.
Most people do over feed. As you already have fish in the water try reducing the amount and frequency you feed. It's not a bad thing to skip a few days every week, either.

Lil_Stinker

Fire Eel
MFK Member
May 30, 2006
State of Emergency