How much does it cost?

eamonster

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 19, 2010
Bay Area, CA
I have a newbie question and it's going to be a lame one. Sorry to all you experienced peeps out there but I'm new to the scene. What can I say?

I was wondering how much it would cost to set up a 200 gallon marine fish tank. From start to finish. Just a rough estimate so I can start saving. ha!

I am looking at getting a shark (bamboo) and a few other small fish. Of course these don't need to be added into the total estimate, I just wanted to give you all and idea of what will be in the tank.

I have been keeping fish for years but want to try the marine side of the house. Thanks for viewing.

FLESHY

Polypterus
MFK Member
Jan 7, 2006
Central Wisconsin
That would be a lot cheaper...but not quite as cool, or as aesthetically pleasing. Also I would consider a larger tank for your shark, in fact, I would consider the biggest possible home you could provide him with.

There are some poly tanks (rubbermaid or otherwise) that are circular 71" in Dia and I think about 18" deep...this might work well for a shark if you wanted to do sort of an indoor pond scheme. I think that pool is about 500g.

There is another section that is devoted to sharks you might want to check that out for more specific information.

overcooked

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 9, 2008
LA
eamonster;4300444; said:
I have a newbie question and it's going to be a lame one. Sorry to all you experienced peeps out there but I'm new to the scene. What can I say?

I was wondering how much it would cost to set up a 200 gallon marine fish tank. From start to finish. Just a rough estimate so I can start saving. ha!

I am looking at getting a shark (bamboo) and a few other small fish. Of course these don't need to be added into the total estimate, I just wanted to give you all and idea of what will be in the tank.

I have been keeping fish for years but want to try the marine side of the house. Thanks for viewing.