At What age/size

syclone

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 2, 2005
South Dakota
the parents should dig a shallow pit in your substrate and start protecting it. the eggs if fertalized will have an orange color to them. Most people will take out the fry once they are free swimming I beleive. I have been trying to breed my reds for about a year now and no dice, so I am no expert but I did stay in a holiday inn.
I hope that helps some.

master.k.

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2006
Clinton Twp , MI
I KNEW IT DAM# IT. I chang my water and vacum the gravil.
THAT IS WHAT I SAW A LIGHT ORANGE NEST AND I SUCKET IT UP
DAM$:cry: :cry: :cry: :confused:
IF they bread once, is it likly they will do it again.
WILL THEY EAT THE FRY WHEN THEY SWIM. Do i hav to remove them right away.

RuXPiN

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 10, 2006
Steve Irwins Shadow
You are so lucky, ive had p since the late 80's, on and off. Lots of breeding activity but no fertilized eggs. They will turn darker in color, almost black. they will fan out a nest. the fertilized eggs will be yellow. When you see yellow you vaccume them up and put them in a smallet tank with a spong filter. you then feed them brine shrimp. you can buy it on ebay. im gonna do another post with stuff ive gathered on the net on p breeding. they will breed again real soon. If i was you I would remove the other piranha from that tank, the male will defend his nest to the death.

RuXPiN

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 10, 2006
Steve Irwins Shadow
this is stuff ive seen on the net. hope it helps got most of it from "dontgointhewater" hes a member here

As for breeding piranha in captivity, This is what works for me...

Triggers are the best way to induce breeding with piranha. These triggers are, and starting with the best:

(1)-PH Stress and Relief