Dwarf caiman care sheet

Lepisosteus platyrhincus

Polypterus
MFK Member
Nov 9, 2008
In the caiman den
This will cover both species of caiman that are best suited for captive care. This means Cuvier's dwarf caiman( Paleosuchus palpebrosus) and Schneider's dwarf caiman (Paleosuchus trigonatus) with the later being covered first. Let it be known that I am far from an expert, simply a hobbyist that enjoys caiman and all kinds of crocs.

First up is Scheider's dwarf. They are a simple caiman to keep with a manageable size. Males can achieve sizes of 2.3 m(7.5 ft) with an average of 1.7m(5.5ft) or slightly larger. Females are a good bit smaller with an average size of 1.2 m to 1.4m (approx 4ft to 4.5ft). Both sexes have a notorius temper and constant handling is NOT gonna solve that problem. Please do not get into these thinking you can cuddle up with them. With enough work an american alligator may become super tame but these are not gators. These have a legendary temper. Keep this in mind when choosing your species. Cuviers is supposed to be a bit more calm. I have zero first hand experience with Cuviers so I am not sure on this.