Bagarius Yarelli info: disclaimer, write up, must read before purchase

fugupuff

M.A.N. Community Vendor
Community Vendor
MFK Member
Mar 14, 2005
Fish Heaven
Here is the deal with the goonch, it has gained much popularity after the Jeremy Wade show on TV. Remember how you use to read in the old TFH books, there was a little face, or skeleton under the picture indication how hard it is to keep a fish? well here is a skeleton or disclaimer: experts only

I've been importing this fish for almost 10 years now, from various countries such as Thailand, India, and through Taiwan from both countries, also other Bagarius sp. suchus, rutilus, and b. bagarius.

B. suchus comes from Burma, once settled in, they seem to be pretty hardy, I've had one get to 15" before being sold, it is the flattest of all species, peaceful in nature, and very rare in the US hobby. Max size is 36"

B. bagarius, I've imported on several occasions through a Thailand exporter and transhipper. After keeping the fish for several months, the fish never grew big, even my customers stated that the fish remained around 6" after 2 years. It is just as sensitive as the last batch I've had all died within a month, even though they were eating well. the last batch I had lived for a while, until I did a big water change, and all died within 1 hour, and I used amquel

B. rutilus, I've obtained several times through a local wholesaler and also once through Singapore, however this fish is just as tricky, I had large ones near 15" and small ones about 7", all lived with no more than several months. My largest one lived, ate well, but died after a few months. This fish has orange colored fins, and seems to be a medium sized bagarius.

B. yarelli, the ones I've imported from Thailand seem to be very hardy, I had a huge one in the store that tried to eat a 12" pike cichlid, in 80 some degree water.