Been considering a florida for years. Still no go?

Joao M

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Nov 28, 2010
Portugal
Hi,

I have been considering keeping a gar for a few years now, but for one reason or the other... in many many years of fish keeping I never had the adequate available tank

Right now I have the following tanks (l-w-h).

- CA cichlid comm + rtg aro,flagtail and panaque - 10´x4´x28";
- "asian theme" (clown loaches, bala sharks and fire eel) 80x20x24";
- festae pair and dithers 72x20x24";
- empty 4x2x28"

I would really like to keep a gar and florida would be my best bet (better beginner gar and the only available one in my whereabouts..), but, according to what I have been reading here:

- the empty 4x2x28" is too small to keep him for life (even if alone);
- the 10x4x28" has CA cichlids, a rtg aro and a flagtail, so it´s not suitable;
- the other 2 tanks are not even an option

Is this a no, no? Or,

a) I may try the 4x2x28" for life?
b) I may try to put him later in the big tank, despite the CA cichlids, the grown up RTG aro and the (shinning) flagtail?

Help me out guys
Thanks

MonsterMinis

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 28, 2009
Wisconsin
4x2 may or may not house a single flg for life.. would a 6x2 be better? yes.. a 4x2 is what footprint my flg are in atm and my oldest is almost 3yrs now i would guess?

so imo A might work out fine particularly if its species only. personally i would keep at least 2 as while they aren't particulalry schooling fish they do tend to spook less and in general "socialize" my first flg spent alot of time "lurking" until we added more gar to the tank... now you can see them useing the whole tank during any time of the day. and spooking is almost non-existant.

d1rt

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Mar 30, 2012
toronto, ontario, CA
my 9" inch florida gar is in a 120 (4x2x2) at the moment and has plenty of space