Protein skimmer on fw tank?

Catfishguy721

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 12, 2013
Houston, TX
Hey guys,
I have a rtc and a tsn/rtc hybrid and a spotted gar in a 90 gallon tank with a 525gph canister filter with uv. I had a protien skinner lying around and put it on. The protien skimmer doesn't bubble up or seem to be doing any good. Is this a necessary part for freshwater tanks? I have never used one before and was thinking of removing it

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

darth pike

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Apr 3, 2008
Korriban
They can work in freshwater, but I've only seen foam generation in really hard water tanks (African rift lake tanks, Central American cichlids) and even then, the foam was no where near the production that you see in a saltwater tank or even a pond. For freshwater tanks, it's generally not worth it to throw it on there.

bassfisher91

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 8, 2012
New York
They don't work very well due to the differences in specific gravity and dissolved solids.....as for nitrates...good old water changes. Start with 30% a week and see where that gets you. You'll probably have to do 50% a week though....then twice a week...then upgrade lol.

Drstrangelove

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Oct 21, 2012
San Francisco
You didn't say what your nitrate level is or how much you are feeding. Nitrate buildup is directly related to a) the amount of nitrogen provided per gallon of water and b) the amount of water replaced. By definition, if nothing changes, either the food needs to be reduced or the water changes increased. E.g., if you have well fed large fish in a small tank, there will need to be a large amount of water changed, all other things being equal.