Finally got a puffer :D

skatin707

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 11, 2013
Delaware
I've been wanting a puffer for quite some time, and my LFS has a stars and stripes puffer I've been eyeing for a couple months. Nobody wants him because he has no color and the customers always say "Look at that ugly fish!". Well I like that ugly fish, so today I got rid of my corals (made a nice chunk of change too!) and brought him home. I brought home a powder brown tang as well.

He's nothing fancy, and I'm not trying to brag or anything, I'm just very excited about him :D

Here's an acclimation photo. Yes, he's stressed.

Anybody else puffer fans?

The powder brown tang is a good looking fish too :)

skatin707

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 11, 2013
Delaware
That's a cool fish, but be careful not to plan a tank around an individual fish, I don't think it is a good idea, but I hope it works for you. :)

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app
It wasn't planned for him, I just got tired of spending money on coral. I guess I prefer a fowlr tank.

He had such an awesome personality, followed me around the tank a lot. He mysteriously died this morning. I figured ammonia, nope. My levels are all 0 (ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate). The LFS is trying to figure it out. The owner has been at my house most of the day searching for a cause :(

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

skatin707

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 11, 2013
Delaware
The tank (rock and sand included) is 6 years old. It was relocated with original water to my house 8 months ago.

Runitis

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Dec 4, 2011
Winnipeg,MB, Canada
Always have been a puffer fan! Always wanted one but never wanted to dedicate a tank to one freshwater puffer. But now I started a salt water I may be getting a valemtini!

kissofcrimson

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jul 8, 2010
North Carolina, USA
www.facebook.com
Sorry to hear your puffer died. Did you find out the cause?