Starting my first Saltwater tank

94redvwjetta

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 1, 2006
catasauqua PA
I have been keeping freshwater fish for a couple years. I have 5 tanks running and one at my girlfriends house. I am always on ebay and craigslist looking for good deals and snatching up used stuff. I have a bunch of extra's laying around so I am going to give a swing at my first saltwater tank. Its going to be a 30 gallon. Filtration I have for it is a magnum 350 and a whisper 60. The protein skimmer is some generic Jebo one that I got off ebay cheap and local. Now here are my questions/everyones opinion on what to use:

I have no specific brand of Salt picked out yet. Is there any particular one you guys would suggest?

Substrate? If I go with sand will I be able to siphon it and clean it or will it get sucked right up the siphon.

Lighting? Is a standard fluroscent light strip going to be enough for just fish and a few small pieces of live rock only to start.

Fish? I always liked yellow tangs but after doing some research i found out they get to be about 7 inchs. So I was thinking of this line up - damsel, clown, dwarf angel and a mandarin. Would that be ok to go with that and maybe something for algea/cleaners over time.

Please I open for all suggestions and advice anyone may have. I dont know much about saltwater so if there is anything that is different from freshwater let me know..........

ewurm

Aimara
MFK Member
Jan 27, 2006
I would recommend getting a protein skimmer. Will drastically reduce nitrates, which is more important in SW tanks.

spotfin

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 2, 2006
Maine
I like/use Instant Ocean brand salt mix.
Go with the sand, and use aragonite sand for salt water aquariums. Just do a light siphon, some sand will get sucked up but you can rinse it and put it back in your tank.
Normal fluorescent lighting will work fine for your tank.