new to marine

hail

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 14, 2013
australia
hey guys i am new to marine i am in the planing of setting up one i am planning on having a 4x2x2 fish tank with a 3 foot sump ive done abit of research but thought i would ask for some personal opinions like on the sump i am thinking of having some bio balls in one chamber then live rock in the next chamber then to the pump and back into the tank in the tank i think i will have a inch of coral sand and only a few rock i just want it to be a fish only tank for now and when i learn more i might get some coarls in the tank there will be 2x 3000l/ph wave makers and no more than 5 fish of 10cm max lighting will just be a led light from a lfs and all of my water changes will be done weekly with water brought from my lfs

so my questions are is that enough for a sump i will i need to do more?

and will i need a protein skimmer?

also if you see any issues with anything plese tell me

Aw3s0m3

Piranha
MFK Member
May 6, 2012
Over there
I would scratch the bioballs and add more live rock. Live rock is more porous and can hold more bacteria than the bioballs can. Practically all of your biological filtration is gonna be from the rock and sand. And you definitely would need a skimmer for a tank that size. I would get the largest skimmer you can fit. What kind of fish do you plan on keeping?

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

3dees

Gambusia
MFK Member
May 23, 2010
Chicago suburb