Arowana aquarium planning

Eddie_87

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 22, 2013
Malaysia
Hi Guys

I am planning to build an aquarium by the size of 8' x 4' x 4'. The back, sides and the bottom will be bricks layered with waterproofing coats. It s just the viewing panel that I am still concerned about.

First of all, I am not good at calculating water pressures, so i am having a difficult time to decide on whether to install tempered glass or acrylic sheet as the front viewing panel. 90% full will be at 862.99 gallons/3262.1 litres (thanks to MFK calculators!), so I am thinking a 12mm / 19mm acrylic sheet would be good to withstand the pressure, or will it not?

Cost is also one of the concerns, but as long as it can withstand the water pressure, I am willing to go the extra mile. The contractor will start building at the end of this month, I have to come to a decision real quick to accomodate the craftsmen. Hoping that some experts can chime in on this. :)

David R

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Apr 26, 2005
New Zealand
I think you'd want considerably thicker than 19mm acrylic. Tempered glass is considerably stronger than regular, but there are downsides. For 4' deep you would want more than 19mm glass, you could reduce the height to around 3' with no negative effects on the arowana.

This thread might be better in the DIY tanks forum, there are plenty of people with experience bilding big tanks that don't keep arowana.

E.C.

I'm looking at your soul
MFK Member
Jun 28, 2013
in the Living Water
If you're gonna include the plecs, as your sig says so in the tank, well, I'd say don't go acrylic, they're gonna damage it by sucking on the glass...

Eddie_87

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 22, 2013
Malaysia
I think you'd want considerably thicker than 19mm acrylic. Tempered glass is considerably stronger than regular, but there are downsides. For 4' deep you would want more than 19mm glass, you could reduce the height to around 3' with no negative effects on the arowana.