Dancing Fish?

lifeshighways

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 17, 2013
North Carolina
I'm a very newbie fish enthusiest... 55 gal white sand bottom only 3 fish. (1) Electric Yellow, (1) GT or BA (cant get anyone to clearly identify) and a placo (enourmous and holding his own w/NO issues from the cichlids)

My GT (or BA) does this jerking, jittering, quick back and forth dance in front of the front glass.. often.. and w/NO warning will JOLT across the tank with speed that makes sand spin under him (or her) and in the past few days has developed a bright yellow/orange edge to his top and tail fins.

Any input would be greatly appreciated

kavin2845

Gambusia
MFK Member
Jun 26, 2012
Malden,Massachusetts
View attachment 972542I dont have pics of him/her dancing.. but attached is a pic of the fish dong the "dancing"
from the picture he looks normal, when he "dances" its probably just flashing, i remember when i had African cichlids they used to do that but its just cause the were itchy and just scratch themselves, or he could be chasing his reflection in the glass and when he just jolts across the tank its probably cause he gets spooked, like if your stand isn't too good they can feel the vibrations from when you walk and get spooked by that, is he in a high "traffic" area of the house?

lifeshighways

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 17, 2013
North Carolina
He is in my office (at work) we dont have a high traffic here there is usually just 3 or 4 of us here and most of the time everyone is in their office - he is sort of in my area so I see him more than others. He does seem to be chasing himself... When he gets to the ends he will really skim from top to bottom pretty fast.
Thank you all for your input. I've been very happy with these guys. I actually got the Yellow first w/two peacocks and he made quick haste at ridding the tank of them.. but when I but this GT/Gold Saum in w/him he became quite the submissive lil thang! *LOL*