Introducing New Foods to Rays

moosemj

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Oct 27, 2012
Illinois
Having trouble getting my new marble to eat anything other than worms. My motorists eat just about anything. Any tricks to getting the marble to try some different foods?

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

moosemj

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Oct 27, 2012
Illinois
Very interesting. I also read about the shrimp stuffed in the worm. Wonder if you could use you strategy with a shrimp too... I like creativity, non was needed for my Motoro rays they just ate everything.

I have never done silversides before. I can try those too.

Do you feel the pellets would be a good enough food where they could breed on such a diet?

yargnits

Piranha
MFK Member
Mar 19, 2011
Leeds, UK.
"WORM JUICE" !

i tried many things over the years and unfortunately lost a few rays at great expense in the early days before internet was popular and there was no such thing as a captive bred stingray.

since then, ray keeping has come along way and i dont think the old issue of "rays not eating" is even an issue anymore. i know it certainly wouldnt concern me if i was buying a wild ray again (provided it wasnt on the verge of death ofc).

ive never had a ray (wild or captive) that wouldnt take chopped worms (once i worked out that it was an acceptable and reasonable food to feed them).

getting them on other foods after that just takes patience. if you go to fast then you risk the ray not eating and the possibility of death as a result. so you have to keep an eye on them, but you should be keeping an eye on them anyhow as even if they are eating something else as its the only way we know something is wrong.

the method i have successfully used many many times is my "worm juice" method. i think ive perfected it over time but its ultimately quite simple and i know many, many people now use this method with rays and its the only method i tell people when asked.