Any advice or tips from experience ???

that_fish_Guy

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jul 29, 2013
CA
Hey guys I ordered a jardini arowana from Pet Zone in San Diego today and I was wondering if any of you guys had tips or tricks or general info on jars. I have kept arowana but only silver and black so I'm new to the jardini aspect. I will house him in a 180 gallon 6x2x2 all to himself On Pet Zones site they said it's approximately 5-6 inches I've read about them but I just want some first hand knowledge and experiences from you guys

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

Evz jardini

Jardini
MFK Member
May 19, 2010
manchester /uk
Make sure you lids on tight ( as you'll already know as you've had arows before) my 22" jar was really heavy set and strong used to smash the lid off my tank even with weights on it , found him on floor few times few very close calls :)
I've found as a varied diet try avoid live until pellets are going down regularly then only as a treat jars are really stubborn when I comes to food ,I've never used live feeders out of choice ;) only really worms mealworms and earthworms work well you can feed silkworms but again as a treat there full of fat and addictive as crack to jars suppose fishy equivalent to a bigmac :D , hikari carni sticks they love , raw prawn/shrimp brings out the colours well . I also feed mine muscles and whitebait once they get bigger both to cut food bills down and to mix it up a bit keep him interested
Hope this has helped not really much more I can say as your not an aro noob and you clearly know about the aggression problems already hence the tank to himself ;) tankmates can be possible I've found big spikey cats work well irwini , Niger etc
Look forward to seeing updates on your jar keep us posted , good luck

Sent from my Nexus 7 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Miguel

Ole Dawg
MFK Member
Dec 28, 2006
Very much south..
98% of Jars are mean and will kill everything. Do not compare with south americans.