need help on building a plywood 360 gal tank and filtration

smaller n stronger

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 30, 2012
Canada
Ok so I am planning out a 360 gal plywood tank build (this is my first build and first sump) I am planning on building a 360 gal plywood tank that measures 76"x36"x32" (would go 36" tall but then i cant fit it through the door) and I am planning on having it on a stand that is 28" tall MAX to give me an overall height of 5'.

For the tank I am thinking of using 1" plywood and 1" acrylic (to keep weight lower) and drilling the acrylic to bolt it to the tank for a stronger seal, and I am planning on using black pond armor to water proof the inside of the tank. Not too sure if the wood will be thick enough so please chime in if its not.

My questions for the build of the tank would be how do i determine how big to cut the hole for my viewing panel and how much overlap i want with the acrylic and plywood? Then how much external bracing with 2x4's should i need? Lastly for the lid how would i keep evaporation down well still letting light in and having easy access to the tank? I was thinking of making a canopy with lighting built in and having front opening doors (like some pet shops have)

For the stand I don't want it to exceed 28" was thinking of building it out of 2x4 and 4x4 (not exactly sure how to build it to withstand the weight yet I am still looking at other big tank stand builds) so please chime in and give your 2 cents on how it could be done because I don't think copying the stand for my 90 gal on a bigger scale will work.

Next is filtration