New 90g eartheater tank sharing

Gambusia
MFK Member
Jul 17, 2014
Hong Kong
Hello everyone. I am new to MKF and am excited to join this forum. As a start, I would like to share with you my new 90g eartheater tank. The water quality is fine, with 0 ammonia and NO2. You may notice there a screen of foam on top of the tank. That's because I'm now dosing Melafix, which I will mention later.

DSC_00861_zpsbc70563f.jpg

The tank has started running for a month. The inhabitants includes:
lemon tetra X10
OH tapajos X6

The orange head are all juveniles of size ranges from 2-3inches. They are my first eartheaters, so I'm pretty excited about it. They are still small, but are already showing some fine coloring.
DSC_00851_zpsa896e575.jpgDSC_00841_zpsc7d785dc.jpgDSC_00751_zps12c496d7.jpgDSC_00741_zps1f7e7dc7.jpgDSC_00731_zpscf876411.jpg
You can see the eartheaters' tail are all ragged, though their other fins are fine. I believe it is due to aggression, since the water quality is fine and the tetra has perfect tails. These guy like chasing, nipping and bumping each other around, so I think that's the problem. I try using Melafix to prompt tail regrowth and prevent infection. It's day 3 of the treatment, but there is still no significant improvement. I will keep monitoring the situation.

When observing the fish, I actually observe a few special behavior which I don't know if they are common are not.
First of all, my tank had a very mild BBA problem, and I was thinking to introduce SAEs to address the problem. But, one day, I saw my orange heads munch on the algae. I didn't know that there are fish other than SAE which would eat BBA. Seeing that, I decided to leave the BBA be. My orange heads will keep them in check.

I also find some of them digging pits. Certainly not for reproduction, as they are still small. I don't know why do they do this, but some will rest in their pits at night.