Sterilizing a used tank

reptilerescued

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jul 19, 2014
nepa
1st official post... ( introduced my self in the proper area)
I have a 55 gallon that I want to sterilize.
this tank was up for about 8 years with "live" fresh water rocks. and was very nice.
The rocks will come back to life once they are rehydrated. I know this because I've let some sit out in the back yard for over a year just to have them re-bloom once they were introduced to a tank that was "clean"

I'm looking to go a different direction with the tank this time. And plan on getting a 120 in the future. I don't want to deal with the maint. of the live rocks. Ya know the yearly algae bloom and so forth in a 120.

I know not to introduce any of the old stuff to the tank, will bleaching the tank be enough to get the algae out of the tank and silicone?

Also I am a dialysis nurse so I have access to all the RO water I need, should I use that to fill the tank since it's 96.4 to 97% rejection rate pure?
Higher then AAMI standards.
I spend a lot of time in our water room @ work checking hardness and chloramines.

So anyways will a 10:1 bleach soak for 24 hrs then a 100:1 bleach 24 hr soak followed by a standard tap water 24 hr soak. kill this stuff?

Live rock was out of the Susquehanna River when I was keeping a lot of wild caught stuff in the beginning.
then moved to chiclids that got to frog eating size.
Donated the fish to a hospital I go to and tore it down to remodel the house.

Sorry for the long post.

Any suggestions to kill this stuff will be helpful.
Thanks

skjl47

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
May 16, 2011
Tennessee
Hello; I have not used bleach in a dirty tank so cannot comment from experience. I have seen posts describing this so a search may give the answers.