Super Red Texas Cichlid

MisterCichlid

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 8, 2014
New Jersey
Hello MFK community,

I have been fascinated with SRT and always see low grade ones in local shops and have been doing extensive reading on line-breeding, and different fish used to result in different looking, and quality of fish produced. I hear the best route is to get a female Red Mammon and Male Green Texas. I have a connection who has Mammons that are imported from a farm in Taiwan and am able to get my hands on a 3" egg laying fertile female. Is there anybody out there that has successfully bred high quality SRT? If so, should I definitely go with the (F) Red Mammon x (M) Carpnitis? Or go with a (F) Red Devil? I'm leaning towards the Mammon but I'm no expert on breeding these fish and would love to hear feedback, stories, advice, or anything one would care to share with me. And I'm not even interested in a profit off of these I am just looking to create something beautiful for my fish tank. Sorry for the longevity, if you read this thank you for your time.

Anthony

suprd71

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 27, 2012
North Bay Ontario Canada
Carpintis is not really a Texas at all. H.Cyannoguttatus is the true Texas cichlid. The "what is a RedTex" thing is an ongoing pile of different opinions, and being a hybrid, it could be lots of things. My idea is a male Cyanno and a female Festae offspring. I have one of these creations, meanest fish I have ever owned. Very pretty girl though.

MisterCichlid

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 8, 2014
New Jersey
Carpintis is not really a Texas at all. H.Cyannoguttatus is the true Texas cichlid. The "what is a RedTex" thing is an ongoing pile of different opinions, and being a hybrid, it could be lots of things. My idea is a male Cyanno and a female Festae offspring. I have one of these creations, meanest fish I have ever owned. Very pretty girl though.