UV Lamps

Bancroft hatcheries

Feeder Fish
Sep 1, 2014
south africa
I recently added a JUWEL Rio 400 to my collection of tanks and after setting it up and putting a variety of gouramies in it, my tank start growing algea at an alarming rate. I therefore purchased a UV light to clear the tank. BIG MISTAKE. all 30 fish died overnight. The tank is clearing, but at a huge loss. I have no put golden apple snails in the tank with some algea eaters and promptly removed the UV lamp. It will be great if anyone can give some imput if I am going in the right direction. I admit that I am still learning as I go. This is the first time I have also been on a blog. I am very excited to learn so much from everyone.

Drstrangelove

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Oct 21, 2012
San Francisco
I recently added a JUWEL Rio 400 to my collection of tanks and after setting it up and putting a variety of gouramies in it, my tank start growing algea at an alarming rate. I therefore purchased a UV light to clear the tank. BIG MISTAKE. all 30 fish died overnight. The tank is clearing, but at a huge loss. I have no put golden apple snails in the tank with some algea eaters and promptly removed the UV lamp. It will be great if anyone can give some imput if I am going in the right direction. I admit that I am still learning as I go. This is the first time I have also been on a blog. I am very excited to learn so much from everyone.
I'm not sure how that could happen. What makes you think buying a UV killed all your fish overnight?

MarineMike

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 31, 2014
Southern California