Considerations for future shark tank

coyotethug

Gambusia
MFK Member
Sep 3, 2005
Michigan
I am building out a system in my basement in the next few months consisting of two 245 gallon (72 x 30 x 27) with four 100 gallon rubbermade stock tanks below for holding tanks and filtration. The two tanks will be side by side and aquascaped to look like on large tank. I am going to do a mixed reef in one and a predatory reef in the other. In the predatory side my family is really hoping for a couple of sharks. I am no stranger to big predators or big tanks, I maintain some very large tanks for maintenance clients, but I do not have any experience with sharks other than the public aquarium world as a biologist.

One of my distributors has short tailed nurse sharks for sale now, and gets them sporadically. I have done some reading on them and they seem an ideal species for captive care and future breeding possibilities. I have extensive experience in keeping and breeding freshwater stingrays, but I also understand that this is likely years away. With a small maximum size and rather low activity level I am interested.

Does anyone have any experience with this species that they could pass along, or any other suggestions for other species that could work? I am looking at a mixed reef system so the tank temp will be about 76 with relatively high light and strong water movement.

Thanks for the help. Also any pictures of tanks like I am describing or tankmate suggestions are welcome.

NovaSS

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 16, 2013
Panama city Florida
make sure it is a true short tail nurse as ive seen american nurse sharks being sold as short tail. i think the tank is still to small for even the short tail nuse as they are not skinny like the coral cat, but wide. If i was planning on getting one i would look into a 96x48x30 tank.

coyotethug

Gambusia
MFK Member
Sep 3, 2005
Michigan